Let Me Believe Instead of Do

1

God should I trust myself or you?

For my straightest paths askew

I walk and lose my way to you

Let me believe instead of do

 

I will myself to shine alight

But does sun try to break the night?

We all know dawn will follow through

Let me believe instead of do

 

I try to float on winds of grace

To reach the sky and find my place

Do birds try sailing the sky blue?

Let me believe instead of do

 

God should I trust myself or you?

Let me believe instead of do

Then does He who supplies you with his marvelous Holy Spirit and works powerfully and miraculously among you do so on the grounds of doing what the Law demands, or because of your believing in and adhering to and trusting in and relying on the message you have heard- Galatians 3:5

 This is the work service God asks of you: that you believe in the One Whom He has sent that you cleave to, trust, rely on and have faith in His messenger.- John 6:29

I apologize for my lack of entries of late, National Novel Writing Month is consuming me, but I realized yesterday I would lose something if I didn’t keep writing sonnets. So I will endeavor to write more here. The above is Kyrielle sonnet, I enjoyed writing it, especially since the last two lines are written in advance. Those last two lines always kill me!

I was reading Galatians this morning and it came to me that trusting God is far more difficult than trying to do everything myself, but trusting God is always preferable.

How can believing God be harder than doing?

If trusting God were easy everyone would do it. We would float through life worry free, but it doesn’t work that way. We strive, we fret, we try and figure everything out for ourselves, do everything for ourselves. We even try to make ourselves more acceptable to God, when he already accepts us as we are.

Every morning I awaken to a long list of silly ambitions, job applications, national novel writing month word count goals, exercise routines. Every morning I think when will I have the time to do it all? I pray about my silly tasks and lo and behold they get done.

Believe me in the morning I feel like such a wretch the last thing I want to do is trust God. But I have a policy that if I pray about something, well then it has to happen, I don’t give up on the things I pray about. So when I choose to pray about something well its a commitment.

I trust God and things happen, but they must happen according to his timing and his direction. If I try to force everything into place then I wind myself up into a ball of anxiety. Im starting to go on a bit too much here. 

I guess my message here is believe God first, try to believe first and then do later. As per the above verses this is literally all he asks of us. Could anything be more simple, but also could anything be more complicated?

Leave a comment