Smile Heart

Screen Shot 2018-06-21 at 9.30.08 AM

 

Smile on my heart for we are free

Wind of breath drifting in and out

The soft hand of grace carries me

Heart don’t you beat without a thought

 

Why then should we try, just to be?

So why heart do we strive to live?

Why not let go and beat on free

Free then to hold what God’s hand gives?

 

See heavens arms reach out for me

Heart, let us meet eternity

Let us cease trying just to be

Smile my heart let’s be still and free

 

Don’t fret heart for Gods breath is free

Smile heart as God smiles on me

 

Shoot that first stanza, it doesn’t rhyme! Oh well…

I am participating in national novel writing month, the prospect of writing full blown sonnets, well I might not always have the time, just letting my regular readers, maybe you are out there, know.

This is just a simple poem I wrote today, as the prospect of all the things left to do was pressing in. I took a deep breath of peace, and this poem was drawn directly from that experience.

I just scribbled this down, but, well I like it, even if that first stanza isn’t in rhyme. Sometimes I think words rhyme in my head, but they don’t.

I suppose lately I’ve just been taking things without trying, without thinking, accepting Gods timing and going with the flow, its wonderful. Try it, just breath and be, moment by moment accepting what comes and trusting in Gods grace to lift you out of it.

 

Leave a comment